Nominations due March 1 for statewide freedom of information award

From the Freedom of Information Foundation of Texas’ blog:

Attention Texas Newspaper Journalists – 2011 Monson Award Entries

Posted: February 10th, 2011

March 1 is the deadline for Monson Award nominations. Sponsored by the Freedom of Information Foundation of Texas and Texas Press Association, the Monson FOI Award recognizes journalists and/or newspapers for outstanding efforts that uphold First Amendment principles, increase public access to government, and improve awareness of state open government statutes.

The award is named in honor of former FOIFT’s executive director, Ms. Nancy Monson, who retired in 2001 after nearly two decades of service. FOIFT is one of the leading education and advocacy non-profit organizations in the country working for open government and access to public information for more than 30 years.

Monson award nominations for calendar year 2010 can be for a single news story or series, an editorial or series of editorials, columns, editorial cartoons or a community FOI project. Nominations should include the following:

  • person or organization being nominated,
  • category entered,
  • a background letter explaining the effort being cited,
  • article/pages being entered along with any clippings,
  • and letters or additional support documents.

There are two award categories: Daily and Non-Daily. All nominations and support material should be sent to:

Monson FOI Award / FOIFT
3001 Lamar Blvd. Suite 302
Austin, Texas 78705

Entries must be postmarked by March 1, 2011. Winners will be announced at the Texas Press Association 132nd Annual Summer Convention, June 18 in Rockwall. For more information, contact FOIFT at 512-377-1575.